Register

Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Questions regarding the authoring of Viewlets, installation or possible bugs with our products. For urgent issues, please use our support form on our website: http://www.qarbon.com/help/helpme.php
User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:37 pm

Capturing on openSUSE 11.1 (not using Compiz, just GNOME with Metacity), all of my screenshots have a grey overlay on them.

How do I get rid of this?

ETA: I tried a few things on other Linux systems using the eval version, and it seems to be something specific to openSUSE 11.1 - on SLES10 and openSUSE 11.0, I don't get this issue.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:09 am

Hi,

This is a known issue with more recent versions of linux. We believe the source of the problem is a conflict between the version of Java we ship with ViewletBuilder4 and the newer Video driver shipped with Linux.

ViewletBuilder4 does work correctly with most linux distros of from about 2 years ago. Ubuntu 8.041 for example.

For newer distros the following workaround has worked for some customers.

Upgrade to Sun Java version 1.6.0_u13 or higher
Make sure the environment variable $JAVA_HOME points to your new Java installation

Then add the following environment variables:
INSTALL_JAVA_HOME_OVERRIDE=$JAVA_HOME
AWT_TOOLKIT=MToolkit

cd <ViewletBuilder 4 Install Folder>

Run by typing:
$ ./ViewletBuilder4

Andrew Branch
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:18 am

Thanks for the reply, Andrew - unfortunately that doesn't seem to have worked here. I'm using the x86_64 build of the Sun JRE 1.6.0_u15. Even with those changes to the ViewletBuilder4 script, the JRE used was the included version.

Moving the jre directory to jre_old and then symlinking the jre directory from my 1.6.0_u15 directory to jre in the ViewletBuilder4 directory also doesn't seem to have worked, but instead throws the following JRE error:

java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: leelou.screenshot.ScreenshotLibrary.setMessages([Ljava/lang/String;)V
at leelou.screenshot.ScreenshotLibrary.setMessages(Native Method)
at leelou.screenshot.QScreenshotCenter.setMessages(QScreenshotCenter.java:98)
at leelou.b.h.<init>(h.java:72)
at leelou.b.l.<init>(l.java:55)
at leelou.b.m.<init>(m.java:34)
at leelou.command.sb.execute(sb.java:86)
at leelou.command.pb.a(pb.java:100)
at leelou.command.pb.O(pb.java:121)
at leelou.command.sb.actionPerformed(sb.java:70)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:1995)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2318)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:387)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:242)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:236)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(AWTEventMulticaster.java:272)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6263)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3267)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6028)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2041)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4630)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2099)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4460)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4574)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4238)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4168)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2085)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:2475)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4460)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:599)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:269)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:184)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:174)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:169)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:122)

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:37 am

That error implies that it can't find the libscreenshot.so shared library. Normally this would be located in the root directory. Could be the symlink is causing confusion with the current directory. Maybe just make a hard copy into the ViewletBuilder4/jre directory would work.
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:59 am

Copying the jre directory from my JRE installation doesn't seem to have helped.

Is it possible Java might be having problems with the library because the Java install is 64-bit and the library is 32-bit? If so, is there a 64-bit version of the libraries in the ViewletBuilder4 root directory available?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:31 pm

> Is it possible Java might be having problems with the library because the Java install is 64-bit and the library is 32-bit?
Yes, that's probably it. Can you install a 32 bit version of java?
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:40 pm

Installed JRE 1.6.0 update 15 (32-bit) and now back to the grey overlay on the screencaps.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:52 am

Sorry, the best answer I have for you at this time then is to try an earlier Linux distro that was out when VB4 for linux was released in early 2007. All major distros were tested at that time and they all worked. We are working on determining what's going on with the new drivers to cause this problem. At this point our best guess is changes to the low level X drivers.
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:54 am

Are there any plans to release an update (perhaps to VB5 or VB6) for Linux?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:41 am

Yes, we will skip right to VB6 for Linux, but I don't have a specific time on when that will happen. An email to our sales team telling them you're interested in purchasing it always helps ;)
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:46 am

Great, thanks! I'll have my purchaser drop an e-mail their way.

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:00 pm

Hi, Andrew -

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'm wondering if there's been any progress on releasing v6 for Linux?

Jim

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:16 am

Hi Jim,

At this time, we have not been dedicating resources to the linux version. All our focus has been on ViewletBuilder7.
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jhenderson » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:52 pm

Thanks, Andrew - does that mean that if a new Linux version is developed, it'll be post-7, and will skip straight to 7?

Jim

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby Andrew » Fri Nov 19, 2010 1:30 pm

Yes that's true. We are doing a number of things in VB7 to make it easier to port to other platforms.
Andrew Branch

User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:18 am
Location: Rhode Island

Re: Capture on Linux - Grey Overlay?

Postby jpri11 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:24 am

Good thing VB7 is finally here!
Currently working as a computer tech at computer repair ri!

Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests