Register

Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Questions regarding the authoring of Viewlets, installation or possible bugs with our products. For urgent issues, please use our support form on our website: http://www.qarbon.com/help/helpme.php
User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:05 am
Location: Western Australia +9hrs GMT

Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby PKPS » Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:31 am

We have two viewlets that we publish to central.

In the past the viewlets worked with Adobe Flash V7 and Version 8.

However, there was a problem today.

Our school machines have a combo of V7 & V8 Flash, but the viewlets do not work now. It appears that it needs Version 9 of Flash.

Have you changed some code somewhere that stipulates that the viewlet will only work with Version 9 of flash in a browser (IE6).

Having to force all machines at our primaryschool (150) to update to Version 9 Flash is a hassle.

Site Admin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:15 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby James » Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:05 am

PKPS,

We need to know which version of VB you used to publish to ViewletCentral?

James

User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:05 am
Location: Western Australia +9hrs GMT

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby PKPS » Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:12 pm

James wrote:PKPS,

We need to know which version of VB you used to publish to ViewletCentral?

James


I am note sure what you mean.
Do you mean Visual Basic?
I am not even sure what version the computers have?

We were using PC's with:
M$ XP Professional
M$ SP2
And Viewlet Quiz Version 2.0.12 x1230

Site Admin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:15 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby James » Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:15 pm

VB = ViewletBuilder

Looks like you used ViewletQuiz (or VQ) as we call it.

James

User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:05 am
Location: Western Australia +9hrs GMT

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby PKPS » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:47 pm

James wrote:VB = ViewletBuilder

Looks like you used ViewletQuiz (or VQ) as we call it.

James


Using Viewlet Quiz is correct - then we post to your website.

We have the account with the two free viewlets for display and use.

Is there a section of code that is hidden in your publishers profoile that auto-detects plug-in versions and defaults to the newest all the time.

On our school website, we have flash plugins that we add extra code that auto detects plugins and redirects when it can not find plugin inbrowser.

User
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:47 am
Location: Dolny Kubin, Slovakia

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby Michal » Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:03 am

PKPS,

to run Viewlets you need Flash Player V8 or higher Flash Player version, currently V9. If it's possible, try to uninstall the Flash Player V7 on your computer, there may be some conflicts, if you have installed both Flash Player versions ( 7 and 8 ).

You can use this link to see, which Flash Player is currently used to run Flash movies in your web browser: http://www.macromedia.com/software/flash/about/

Michal
Michal

User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:05 am
Location: Western Australia +9hrs GMT

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby PKPS » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:08 am

Michal wrote:PKPS,

to run Viewlets you need Flash Player V8 or higher Flash Player version, currently V9. If it's possible, try to uninstall the Flash Player V7 on your computer, there may be some conflicts, if you have installed both Flash Player versions ( 7 and 8 ).

You can use this link to see, which Flash Player is currently used to run Flash movies in your web browser: http://www.macromedia.com/software/flash/about/

Michal


I am going to try a different angle. I am going to publish the viewlets to a local thumb-drive at home, then take then into school and try them on a V7 / V8 flash machine.

A cursory look in the JavaScriptFlashGateway.js that is sent with the local file seems to have a reference to Flash "this version"


function FlashTag(src, width, height)
{
this.src = src;
this.width = width;
this.height = height;
this.version = '7,0,14,0';
this.id = null;
this.bgcolor = 'ffffff';
this.flashVars = null;
this.params = new Array();

Is this a direct reference to which version of flash to look for?

If it is, is the same .js file used when uploaded to VCentral?

I will keep you posted after a school test.

User
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:47 am
Location: Dolny Kubin, Slovakia

Re: Adobe Flash - V7 - V9

Postby Michal » Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:12 am

PKPS wrote:
Michal wrote:PKPS,

to run Viewlets you need Flash Player V8 or higher Flash Player version, currently V9. If it's possible, try to uninstall the Flash Player V7 on your computer, there may be some conflicts, if you have installed both Flash Player versions ( 7 and 8 ).

You can use this link to see, which Flash Player is currently used to run Flash movies in your web browser: http://www.macromedia.com/software/flash/about/

Michal


I am going to try a different angle. I am going to publish the viewlets to a local thumb-drive at home, then take then into school and try them on a V7 / V8 flash machine.

A cursory look in the JavaScriptFlashGateway.js that is sent with the local file seems to have a reference to Flash "this version"


function FlashTag(src, width, height)
{
this.src = src;
this.width = width;
this.height = height;
this.version = '7,0,14,0';
this.id = null;
this.bgcolor = 'ffffff';
this.flashVars = null;
this.params = new Array();

Is this a direct reference to which version of flash to look for?


Yes, that's true, there should be the 8 version for safety, we'll update this script file. Thank you for noticing us.

PKPS wrote:If it is, is the same .js file used when uploaded to VCentral?

Yes, it's the same file.

Michal
Michal

Return to Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest